My Sunday Sermon Journal: Restore System Defaults

My Sunday Sermon Journal

A collection of thoughts, ideas, and notes taken from a Sunday Worship Service.

Untitled

Going through Ephesians 4:17-24.

Allowing God to pour His light that it changes our thinking.

Negative Stereotypes about righteous living may include: That righteous living is prudish, ridiculous, “holier than thou”, antiquated, old-fashioned…

We’re called to unity with God’s people. Our calling is our gift- our unique role. We need to reboot, restore our systems to our ORIGINAL PURPOSE. The purpose for which we were born to do…our calling.

The reality is that our culture is apart from Christ, darkened with our understanding and ignorant. When nothing can satisfy us, we need to know that ONLY GOD CAN SATISFY.

“Break my heart for what breaks yours…Hosanna…”

~Hosanna, Hillsong United

How to Restore our system defaults: Put off the old self, the flesh, the man of the earth who has deceitful desires. Take off the cultural “clothing” and get to a place where you hate those “clothes”!

Next, embrace the truth!  Embrace a new attitude.  C.S. Lewis says that before we can be saved we must WANT to be cured.  Truth is connected to lifestyle.  The things we believe greatly affect the way we live.

Put on the New Self.  Embrace the person God intended you to be.

How we live=how we think.

Right thinking -> Biblical thinking=Right LIVING.

Prayer:

Lord, give me the courage to change my lifestyle, reboot my system, to the purpose I was created for.  Father, restore my life and give me back what I’ve robbed from myself by succumbing to worldly desires. Help me to seek only which is in You and help me to have the courage to be obedient when You call me to make those decisions. Thank you for Your mercy, Your grace and Your forgiveness. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

 

Watch the sermon Restore System Defaults

Pastor: Doug Kyle
Sermon: Restore System Defaults

Series: (Kal-eh-o) “Calling”

Aired 02/02/14

Sermon Outline: Follow Along!

 

About Crossing Paths Daily

Christian pro-life blog

Posted on March 2, 2014, in Sunday Sermon Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

