My Sunday Sermon Journal: The End of it All

My Sunday Sermon Journal

A collection of thoughts, ideas, and notes taken from a Sunday Worship Service.

blogpic21

This week was FULL of blessings! This sermon raised so much awareness within me. My notes were scribbled all over the page! The overall message is to not to take advantage of Christ. Sometimes we use Jesus and our relationship with Him to achieve our goals and to ultimately reach what we want…But Jesus should be the END GOAL. HE should be the goal.

We took a look at Johns disciples in John 3:22-31. They didn’t have a relationship with Jesus as almost viewed Him as “competition” when Jesus began baptizing. Now, Jesus sis personally affecting John. What we do is always compare ourselves to others. But God gives the orders and John’s response in John 3:27-30 is amazing!

“I can only be faithful with what I’ve been given.”
“I am not the Savior of the World.” He repeats this numerous times to people, to ensure they don’t follow HIM but Christ.
“My joy is to hear of Jesus’ success.” His goal was JESUS! He sought to please Jesus, bring people to Jesus, and put Jesus ahead of himself in everything he did.
“Jesus is greater than me.”

Whatever we have, we need to have a relationship with Christ. There are “side effects” to not seeking Him. He IS the Heights- Don’t use Him!

I love Johns response! He knew his role. He’s the VOICE from which Jesus can be heard. God used John to bring people to Jesus, not to John himself. The goal was always Jesus.

The speaker used a great analogy here. He said as though the church is the bride of God, John was the “best man”. He was about the “marriage” of us to Jesus.

All we can do is use the time He’s given us, and we should be asking Christ not “When?” but “How?”

The problem for Us is that we easily make Jesus the means to an end, instead of the end itself. Using Jesus to help us get what we want…instead of seeing Jesus as the goal. I realized I do this in my own life. It really provoked lots of self-evaluation as far as what I’m doing to put Christ as my goal, instead of my own goals in life. This message is so profound.

“The most humble person in the room is usually the most interesting.” Lift HIM up. Jesus should inspire you, He’s our safety net but He’s not simple any of these. He is everything.

Watch the sermon The End of it All

Pastor: Geoff Horn
Sermon: The End of it All

Aired 01/05/2014

Sermon Outline: Follow Along!

About Crossing Paths Daily

Christian pro-life blog

Posted on January 19, 2014, in Sunday Sermon Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

