My Sunday Sermon Journal: The Power of The Holy Spirit

My Sunday Sermon Journal

A collection of thoughts, ideas, and notes taken from a Sunday Worship Service.

stock111

Pastor: Dr. David Hull
Sermon: Who is The Holy Spirit? (Part 1)
Date: June 2, 2013

The Power of The Holy Spirit

How does this gracious Spirit dwell within us? Who is the Holy Spirit?

John 16:7: But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.

Jesus was speaking to His followers the day before His crucifixion.

{Personal story, paraphrased:}

“I was at a dealership, looking to purchase a new car and I was going around this particular car as the salesman was describing it’s features. He told me about this one feature that allows you to start your car without having to even be inside the car. As he was talking it reminded me of a James Bond movie when Bond would push a button on his car remote and the car immediately turned on allowing him to escape from the bad guys quickly. The salesman asked me if I had ever seen this feature and I told him I had never seen this feature before. Not quite sure when a Baptist preacher will ever need a quick escape like James Bond, but it was cool nonetheless!

While doing some paperwork, the man proceeded to my own car, to make sure nothing was wrong with it and that it could be traded in. When he came back, he told me that I had that exact same feature. A car I had owned for many, many years, all along had the James Bond feature! I sure felt stupid at that point, having held something in my pocket for so long without a clue.

{End story}

This story reminds us that many Christians process a power within them, the Holy Spirit, without realizing or knowing His power. Some of us don’t even know the power of the Holy Spirit. If we don’t know what this power is about, if we’re carrying it and don’t even know it, we need to learn something about the Holy Spirit.

In the Old Testament, mentioned in the very beginning, the Hebrew word “Ruah” meant breath or wind or Spirit. Throughout the Old Testament this term was used to describe the Spirit which was a part of all CREATING.

In the New Testament, the word “pneuma”, in Greek, had the same meanings. Then in John 14, 15 and 16, Jesus gave a new word: Paraclete. Paraclete translates to “called alongside”; the advocate. Jesus was saying that the Holy Spirit will reside within you, you will not be alone. The Holy Spirit will do things which you cannot do on your own.

John 14, 15 and 16


1.) The Holy Spirit Teaches & Reminds Us

John 14:26: But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

The Bible has guidance for everything; how to love, how to receive joy and how to live.
Sometimes we need help understanding this. As we read it, the Holy Spirit touches us and reaches out to us; teaching and guiding us to the truths and understanding His Word.

{Personal story, paraphrased:}

I was at a dinner, hosted by friends of the church, to welcome business members from Vietnam. The wonderful hosts had a tray of crawfish on the menu. I had remembered eating crawfish a while back and thought it would be easy to remember how to eat them, since there’s a particular way. One of the hosts briefly described it to me and I sat down assured I could do it. I sat down and began my attempts to getting the meat inside the crawfish. A woman at my table saw my failed attempts and helped me in doing it successfully. She had to show me a few times for me to actually “get it” and I was happily enjoying the feast! You see, I had done this many years ago, and I had even been told and showed many times before I actually understood. This is the same way with the Holy Spirit.

{End Story}

When you’re reading the Bible:
a.) don’t read it too quickly and get frustrated and
b.) don’t read it and expect to understand right away and “move on”

Stop. Let the Holy Spirit speak and move in you until you finally learn to enjoy what you’re being taught…the “feast”.

2.) The Holy Spirit Witnesses With Us

John 15:26: “When the Advocate comes, whom I will send to you from the Father—the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father—he will testify about me.

Once we have given our life to Christ, once we have received the Spirit within us and once we have received His love and Grace, we want to tell someone about it! But if most Christians are brutally honest, it would be hard for them to share their testimony. Many think that it’s too hard and that they just don’t have the right words. But God promises His “paracleate” will be with you. He’ll help you; you’re never alone.

When you think of it that way, you’re much more optimistic in being a witness, knowing He’s right there with you.

3.) The Holy Spirit Convicts Us

John 16:8: When he comes, he will prove the world to be in the wrong about sin and righteousness and judgment…

The Holy Spirit, when He comes He will convict us. He’ll point out the sin in our lives and lead us to a way to be cleaned. As Christians, this is ongoing; we must repent everyday and change and turn from the sin that stains us. And only can we do this through the Holy Spirit.

We all have toxic waste and the Holy Spirit comes and takes it all away. Sin, pride, prejudice and guilt, we might hide but the Holy Spirit comes and convicts us to wipe us clean.

When you turn it over to Christ, He takes care of it. A power you may not know you have…
Be open in receiving His guidance and when He convicts us of sin.

4.) He Reveals Himself to Us

John 16:12-13: I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.

Don’t have that power of the Holy Spirit within you for years and not know. Live abundantly.
We should walk dependent on Him. That power is available to everyone.

In our hearts, the power is there to teach us, to guide us, to witness, to convict us of our sin and to keep on revealing Himself to us so that we can grow and grow.

Let’s walk with the Spirit and know the joy and power of God’s presence in our lives.

About Crossing Paths Daily

Christian pro-life blog

Posted on July 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

